Dusting this old thing off again

No sense in denying it, I pretty much abandoned this blog. But I’d like to revive it again, since I’m going to be doing more games writing in the future, and it’ll be handy to have a place to work thoughts out on a day to day (well, so to speak) basis.

Some housekeeping is in order!

First, I’m signed on to do games reviews for Bitter Lawyer, which will have its official launch in the near future. It’s already up and running, though, and you can check out my first couple contributions:

Make A Little Birdhouse In Your School And Play This Pigeon Dating Game

Shadow of Mordor: Orc Murder Simulator 2014

I’ve submitted a review of Alien: Isolation as well, so keep an eye on the site for when (assuming my editors like it) that goes live.

Some other relevant bits of news – After a bit of timely contract work, I was able to plunk down some cash and build a pretty fantastic gaming PC. For specs, I’ll create a separate page or entry on this blog so I can link back to it. (Edit: Here’s the page.) For now, though, it has a nice Intel i7 quad-core sitting on a very pretty MSI motherboard that houses lots of RAM and a graphics card that looks capable of vertical takeoff and landing. It’s far more powerful than the new-gen consoles, so it should be more than enough for the next few years’ worth of triple-A releases.

Moving on…

When I started this blog up, I picked “culturegamer” because I wasn’t feeling very original and I wanted to talk about the intersection of culture and video games. Now that the internet shitstorm known as “gamergate” is still in full, noxious swing, I’m going to have to take a stab at talking about that. In the meantime, though, several sites have written “explainers” about the phenomenon that can at least help contextualize the insanity that at the time of this writing shows no signs of slowing down:

The Washington Post’s The Intersect: The only guide to Gamergate you will ever need to read

Deadspin: The Future Of The Culture Wars Is Here, And It’s Gamergate

Gawker: What Is Gamergate, and why? An explainer for non-geeks

Anyway, stay tuned. More to follow.

Leave a comment